Legend

Lake Kuznechiha is located in Zvenigovskiy Region of Mary El’s Republic. It is three kilometers from village Kokshamary 56°11’42.06’’NL and 47°25’42’’ EL at an altitude of 58m above sea level. It is possible to reach this forestry using the federal road P-176 "Vyatka".

In Mary El’s language the old name of the lake sounds like Purzh’er that means "Slump Lake".

Old people say that there was a village (in 18th century) where blacksmiths and potters lived. There were deposits of loam not far from that place. People were practiced pottery industry. There was a water mill not far from the lake on the creek to the Bol’shaya Kokshaga. Its remains were saved until the second half of the XX century. There were excursions for pupils in 1950s.

Lake Kuznechiha is of the karstic origin. There is a legend about one of the citizens of the village. He married to one of his sisters and God punished the entire village. At the day of their wedding the village slumped. There appeared a lake with area of 9 ha. The surface of the lake has wrong oval shape 400 to 200 meters. The depth of the lake reaches 6 meters. It is connected with river Bol’shaya Kokshaga that feeds the lake with water.

A. Ritter wrote about Mary El’s legend in his novel "Quiet Lake" in 1928.

"Quiet lake or Kuznechiha is situated in primeval forest, 4 versts from village Kokshamary, Zvenigovskiy Region of Mariy El’s Autonomus Republic and has the oval shape."

Once people created an interesting legend connected with the lake. Now the details of the legend are forgotten unfortunately. Author had to reconstruct while studying life and peculiarities of people in this district.

This legend saved in oral tradition in the following text:
"in the forest on a hill there was a village where brother married his sister. During the feast the hill with festive people and the village slumped. There appeared a lake. It got name "Tihoye" or "Kuznechiha".

Local people assure that till the present days in deep night people can hear the cock singing, crying and noise of wedding festival, but not everyone can hear it.

Легенда

Озеро Кузнечиха расположено в Звениговском районе Республики Марий Эл в трёх километрах от деревни Кокшамары в 56°11'42.06"СШ и 47°46'25.42"ВД на высоте 58 метров над уровнем моря. Добираться к нему надо по федеральной автомобильной дороге Р-176 «Вятка».

На марийском языке старое название озера звучит как Пуржьер, что в переводе означает - провалившееся, ушедшее в преисподнюю озеро.

Старики рассказывали, что когда-то ( в 18 веке нашей эры) здесь же была деревня, в которой жили кузнецы и гончары. Недалеко от этого места находились залежи глины. Люди занимались гончарным производством. Неподалёку от озера на протоке в сторону Большой Кокшаги работала водяная мельница, её остатки сохранялись до второй половины ХХ века. В 50-е годы учителя приводили сюда школьников на экскурсии.

Озеро Кузнечиха карстового происхождения. Про него рассказывают легенду, будто один из жителей деревни женился на родной сестре, из-за чего бог и покарал всё селение. В день их свадьбы он провалилось. На его месте образовалось озеро, площадь зеркала - 9 га. Гладь озера неправильной овальной формы имеет размеры 400 на 200 метров. Глубина озера достигает шести метров. Оно связано с рекой Большая Кокшага, которая подпитывается его водой.

Вот что писал А.Риттер автор произведения "Тихое озеро: Марийская легенда", изданного в 1928 году:
"Тихое озеро или Кузнечиха находится в дремучем лесу в 4-х верстах от деревни Кокшамары, Звениговского района Марийской Автономной Области и принадлежит к типу провальных озёр, которыми изобилует этот край.

Когда-то народ создал интересную легенду, связанную с этим озером, но теперь подробности этой легенды, к сожалению уже забыты; и автору пришлось их восстанавливать на основании изучения быта и особенностей народа мари в этой местности.

Легенда сохранилась только в устном предании и в следующем виде:
"Среди леса, на холме была деревня, в которой брат женился на своей родной сестре. Во время свадебного пира, холм с деревней и пирующими провалился и на его месте образовалось озеро, названное Тихим или Кузнечиха".

Окрестные жители уверяют, что и до сего дня, в глухую полночь, со дна озера слышится пенье петуха, плачь и шум свадебного веселья, но только не всем дано это слышать".